SwimMark Accreditation for Clubs

Formerly called Swim21, SwimMark accreditation is Swim England’s quality standard for clubs. It recognises high standards of governance, sustainability and effectiveness.

Any affiliated Swim England club can apply for the accreditation, regardless of the club’s size or the disciplines delivered.

What is SwimMark about?

There are three modules clubs can aspire to: SwimMark Essential Club, SwimMark Network, and SwimMark Performance.

SwimMark Essential Club

This is the primary module for clubs, helping achieve good governance, grow membership, develop volunteers and ensure activities are sustainable and in line with club objectives. It is accredited every two years.

Derwentside ASC have achieved this accreditation, re-accreditation will be due 14th December 2018.  A list of clubs with the accreditation can be found here.

SwimMark Network

This module encourages clubs to work collaboratively across a localised area. This approach helps athletes to maximise their potential and be retained in the sport. It also increases volunteer opportunities and helps to raise the standards of teaching and coaching.

The Network accreditation lasts for two years and consists of three elements: a development plan, a training needs analysis and a signed terms of reference.

The club must have had achieved the SwimMark Essential Club accreditation before it can become a SwimMark Network member.

Northumberland and Durham received this accreditation in September 2017.  A full list of accredited Networks can be found here.

SwimMark Performance

The Performance module provides a benchmark for clubs coaching and developing high-level athletes across the four sports (swimming, diving, water polo and synchro).

Clubs need to demonstrate that athlete pathways, the physical environment, quality coaching practices and support services are all in place for athletes to reach the pinnacle of their aquatic sport. Performance standards are measured by England Programmes.

Depending on the discipline, there are a range of elements to complete to attain the Performance level. Once achieved, the accreditation will last for two years.

Your club must have achieved SwimMark Essential Club and be actively engaged with SwimMark Network accreditations to achieve your Performance accreditation.

A current list if accredited clubs can be found here.

28th December 2017